Good Friday…

This is semi off topic for my blog, but I feel compelled to share my thoughts on Easter and Good Friday, some may not agree and thats okay, after all the world would not be as diverse if everyone shared the same thoughts.

Today is Good Friday and this weekend is to remember he who died for our sins. Not many people give much thought to this and carry on with the day as usual… People are so concerned with making sure the eggs are dyed and the Easter baskets are filled. But what does this have to do with Jesus dying for our sins? I dont recall reading about a Easter bunny hopping around with a basket full of colored eggs and presents in the Bible… Everyone says the next generation is the future, but what kind of future will it be if they do not even know the true meaning of Easter? if all they think Easter is for is to fill a Easter basket with presents, eggs and candy? It would be fine to have a “Easter Bunny” and all the things with it if there was still a true meaning explained to the children. While in the store the other day I was looking at Easter cards and 80% of them had no affiliation with Jesus… that just does not make sense to me as the only reason we have Easter is because of his sacrifice. To me its like having a dear friend do something very amazing for you, something life changing and then instead of saying “Thank You” and showing appreciation you instead find a cute animal and begin celebrating that animal instead and forget all about the reason… Just the other day I walked in the mall and seen the typical spot set up for children to get a picture with the Easter Bunny, and I noticed there is nothing religious there, its all just about a bunny and eggs. Last I knew Jesus died for our sins not for children to be given tons of candy and a stuffed bunny. So my question is how is this a Good Friday if most forgot the true reason? For the record I do not combine Easter with the “bunny” because Easter is a time of reflection and appreciation and the eggs and bunny are just something fun to do as spring approaches, this is how I explain it to my 9 year old daughter. She knows what Jesus did on the cross and when we have fun with some dye tomorrow we will be writing a small card for each egg with a reason we are thankful for what Jesus did! My daughter is just amazing, she is still just as happy as every other child that receives a “basket” but she has a foundation of belief and wisdom of what Easter is all about. If I can insill one thing in my child that means the most its Faith and she has it.

bunny_egg_cross_wall

2 thoughts on “Good Friday…

  1. Pingback: Good Friday Adlandpro Friday Review | Bogdan FiedurBogdan Fiedur

  2. Wonderful work! That is the type of info that are meant to be shared across the internet. Shame on Google for now not positioning this post upper! Come on over and discuss with my web site . Thanks =)

Leave a Reply

